Passion Space

During my last week of learning within my MAET classes, I read Thomas Friedman’s article entitled It’s the P.Q and the C.Q as much as the I.Q, whereas the P.Q is our passion quotient and C.Q. is our curiosity quotient.  Much of my Masters education has been focused on understanding the process of learning, identifying how technology can enhance this learning, and what constraints education (and teachers) may be putting on learners. So how do these understandings tie into passion and curiosity? The sad reality is that I have forgotten that these two factors don’t tie into learning they are true learning, how knowledge begins and evolves.  As a learner and a teacher I have felt the sorrowful deterioration of my own passion quotient, through countless teacher evaluations, student assessment and endless strands of standard that must be tightly adhered to. My end goal is to have students gain as much knowledge through the use of as many types of technology I possibly can, within the limited time I have them.  Often times missing out on opportunities that develop student understanding of material, through their own learning experiences (curiosity).  Many times forgetting to allow this curiosity to scaffold into a passion for seeking new knowledge, and processing how this knowledge was obtained.  The Curiosity Project article posted by admin (2013) gives context to my dilemma:

The eyes of my three-year-old daughter sparkle when she learns something new,” says Dr. Stacey MacKinnon, Associate Professor of Psychology at UPEI. “I think somewhere along the way, we train that sparkle out of kids, because a lot of my students wonder why I bother teaching them anything that won’t be on the final exam (para. 1).

What the author of the Curiosity Project post and Friedman recognize, is the value that passion and curiosity add to individual growth in the form of knowledge. As a teacher my role is to recognize what the right education for our students are and to give them more of it. The right education that progresses students toward success is one that leverages technology to induce passion and curiosity.

With passion and curiosity in mind along with the value of technology and the worth of Professional Learning Networks I have used Sketchup to create my utopian classroom, my Passion Space.

Resources:

admin. (January 17, 2013). The Curiosity Project. [Web log]. Retrieved from http://projects.upei.ca/research/category/uncategorized/page/5/

Friedman,T. L. (2013). It’s P.Q. and C.Q. as Much as I.Q. The New York Times. Retrieved from http://www.nytimes.com/2013/01/30/opinion/friedman-its-pq-and-cq-as-much-as-iq.html?_r=0

Leave a Reply

